Oh, I can’t believe it.  We were so close.

When we made the raid, I was a little skeptical.  We brought some weaker DPSers and a tank who hasn’t done a lot of raiding (his main is a warlock, and he’s a little sketchy on that field too).  I thought we’d get through Naxx 10 pretty fast and then we’d do Malygos 10 afterwards.

We did get through Naxx 10 fast, a little under 2 hours.  But what the killer was the fact no one had died in the run until Kel’Thuzad.

Good ol’ KT isn’t that hard in 10-man.  The only things that will really kill you are two things: the Frost Blasts and the void zones.  We’d been dueling the zones for a few days through Sartharion 3-drakes, so you’d think everyone would pay attention to those really hard.  I mean, it’s really obvious when there’s a big pillar of death focused on you.

NOPE!  The warlock-playing-paladin-offtank dies.  KT is at 5%.  My heart plummeted to my feet.  It was like getting kicked in the gut.  I think I forgot to breathe for a while.

It’s very disheartening when something like that happens.  As a raid leader, we’re supposed to “allow for mistakes”.  But what happened was like fumbling a football before you touchdown, only to have the opposing team to run it to the other side of the field for their own touchdown.

Later that evening, he apologized to me personally.  I said that I wish I didn’t have to accept any apology, because we had been so close.  It had been in our grasp.  It was so close.

As an educator, I’m used to shortcomings and under-performances.  But I always have trust in my students to prevail and still do their best.  Even when they don’t, we both know how it went, and we take it as it is.

But disappointment is what it is.  I’m still proud of what our somewhat not-great-on-paper Naxxramas 10 did.  It just means we can do it faster and successful next time with a stronger group.